Man down!

On October 18, a new show about three video game-obsessed manboys premiered on ABC. I rarely literally laugh out loud while watching a TV show — chuckle at a show? Yeah, but really laugh? Hardly.

‘Man Up’ was witty, funny and relatable… to me. Contrary to the critics’ reviews, it was hardly cliche; it isn’t the same geek stereotyping and brainy humor as ‘The Big Bang Theory’ (which I also enjoy). Instead of  socially awkward, idiosyncratic Ph.Ds, the men of ‘Man Up’ are  businessmen AND puerile co-op gamers. What’s cliche about that?

Due the B.S. show-killer that is Nielsen Ratings, the half-hour sitcom was canceled after only eight of the 13 episodes had aired. By the eighth episode, viewership had fallen by 3 million. (Damn you, Nielsen Ratings.) The remaining five episodes were posted to the show’s website and Hulu… at least they’ve given me that little bit of joy.

I’ve watched all 13 episodes on Hulu at least four times and still laugh at every joke. It’s a bittersweet feeling knowing it’s been canceled.

Every time a show I enjoy gets canceled, I rewatch episodes and wonder aloud, “WHY WAS THIS CANCELED? It’s HILARIOUS and/or AWESOME!”

How often has this happened to me?  Well…

  • Firefly- FOX (2002)
  • Jericho- CBS (2006-08)
  • Heroes, which after season two, kind of had it coming- NBC (2006-10)
  • Pushing Daisies- ABC (2007-09)
  • Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles- FOX (2008-09)
  • Dollhouse- FOX (2009-10)
  • Lie to Me- FOX (2009-11)
  • The Cape- NBC (2011)

And now, another one bites the dust.

I thought it was just FOX who wanted to rob me of shows I love; now I see that the Big Three also have it out for me and my happiness.

Until next time,
Michelle

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

